pa move over law; move over for emergency vehicles

Pennsylvania’s Move Over Law is over a year old and Pennsylvania State Police say they are stepping up their efforts to make sure it is enforced.

The law requires drivers to move over or slow down when they see an emergency vehicle or a disabled one. This includes moving over to a lane farther away when an emergency response driver is approaching. If this is not a possible, the law states that drivers should slow to no more than 20 mph below the posted speed limit. Officers said that many drivers are ignoring this rule.

First responders say the law is designed to help keep people safe in emergency situations.  Troopers will be adopting a “zero tolerance” enforcement approach during a six-state trooper project. 

Drivers who violate the law could face a fine of $500 on their first offense and up to $2,000 on their third. Drivers who violate the law three times could also face a license suspension.